The lesson in a dislocated shoulder

Breathe

I dislocated my shoulder yesterday at the gym. :(

But I’m okay. I’ve reached a point in my life where I genuinely know that EVERYTHING happens for a reason. Some reasons we find out sooner than later. Nonetheless, there is a lesson in everything. So I’m talking to God like “What’s going on? Why this dislocated shoulder? Why me? Why now?” and then I cried. Not only was it painful, but I began to think about all of the things that I wasn’t going to be able to do this week. The meetings I would have to cancel, the events that I would have to miss, the gym classes I would have to postpone; all I could think about was the negative outcome of this stupid fracture.

After the dramatics, I had to pause for a moment. This could’ve been much worse. I could’ve lost my arm, there could’ve been no one there to help me. There are people in this world with no arms and no legs. I really began to put everything into perspective.

“I’m still breathing. I’m still able to walk. I still have a home to go to. I still have parents to call.” In that moment, I was thankful. I was actually more than thankful. With a sore shoulder, I still have so much to be thankful for. So I let go of the negatives and focused on what my lesson in this could be: Be thankful for what you do have, not on what you don’t.

(Shout out to Oprah for that perfect quote)

One comment

  1. In everything, there is a lesson and you recognized that even in this moment, you have so much to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

